## 37th Annual Association of Ohio Free Will Baptists Now History 1975

The 37th Annual Association of Ohio Free Will Baptists met June 27 and 28 at the Williams Road Church, Columbus, Ohio. A total of 377 registered for the convention with many more attend-

Rev. Hobert Ashby, Rev. Don Sexton, and Rev. Leroy Forlines each did superbly in preaching to appointed subjects fulfilling the convention theme, "Unifying the Saints With One Lord, One Faith, and One Baptism."

A good spirit prevailed throughout the convention directed by Moderator, Floyd Wolfenbarger.

The following resolutions were

1. We recommend the State Association instruct the clerk to write the conference clerks, and they in turn notify each church clerk that we endorse the letter writing program to stop the progress of Madeline Murray O'Hara in her effort to stop the mention of God and prayer on TV. We can do this by writing protest letters. Amended to insert, or anything that she would raise to stop mentioning God's name by public officials. Adopted as amended.

2. We recommend that we support the textbook issue and take a stand as a body to show our contempt for such literature being used in the public schools. This is to be done by writing the State Board of Education, Congressmen and local authorities. MSC

3. We recommend that the Treatise be strictly adhered to in receiving churches from other conferences and associations and violations are to be dealt with accordingly, MSC

The Executive Committee recommends that the Association call a constitutional convention in 1976 to meet Thursday before the regular associational meeting in order to revise the Constitution. Each Quarterly Meeting is asked to send one representative.

The Executive Committee was asked

to draft a proposed revision for said meeting.

The newly elected officers are: Floyd Wolfenbarger, Moderator Robert Prichard, Assistant Moderator Richard Pressnell, Clerk Delmar Sparks, Board of Directors Holmer Brooks, Member at Large Charlie Lykins, Nominating Committee Dale Humphreys, CTS Director Danny Widdig, Sunday School Board Jim Cox, Mission Board Roger Johnson, Mission Board

The CTS Conference had an overflowing crowd Saturday evening following the association. The Ohio State Youth Choir numbering 84 sang the arrangements they were to sing at the National Association. Mr. Ed Pack was the director. The Tic Tac Toe team from Dayton, First was unopposed and represented Ohio at the National (They came in fifth.) Shirley Justice (North Church) won the Sword Drill and came in third at the National.

The Crownsmen Quartet of Free Will Baptist Bible College sang before the evening message by Rev. Tim Thompson whose subject was, "The Tragedy of the Shrinking Giant."

The next association will be hosted by the Cuyahoga-Lorain Conference at the Amherst Church.



Tic Tac Toe Team From Dayton First



Sword Drill: Shirley Justice, 1st Todd Finney, 2nd



Joann Sizemore New President



President Nora Lee McCarty introducing L-R Mrs. Cleo Pursell, Rev. & Mrs. Dana Booth at the Woman's Auxiliary Banquet.

L-R Dianna Cox, Treasurer Nora Lee McCarty, Field Wor Yvonne Wolfenbarger, Secretary Dorothy Naves, Member a Large Evelyn Miller, Vice President Joann Sizemore, President



**Ohio Youth Chair** 



Crownsmen Quartet



Moderator, Floyd Wolfenbarger



Rev. Tim Thompson



Missionary Don Sexton